Some coins in Chinese history

Qing Dynasty coins

At the end of the Qing Dynasty, many provinces in China successively struck silver coins of mechanism, some of which had dragon patterns on the back, commonly known as "Long Yang". The earliest Longyang in China was the Guangdong Longyang that Zhang Zhidong proposed to cast.

In 1887, Zhang Zhidong, governor of Guangdong and Guangxi, saw a large number of foreign silver coins flowing into China, flooding the market and disrupting the economy, so he asked the court to make their own silver coins to resist. In 1889, the Qing government approved the trial production of silver coins by Guangdong Silver yuan Bureau. The silver coins have four characters on the obverse, four full characters in the center, and also "Guangxu Yuanbao". In the outer circle, the characters "Guangdong Province" and "seven coins and three cents" are in English. On the back, there are Panlong patterns. On the top, there are "made in Guangdong Province" and on the bottom, there are "seven coins and three cents in Kuping". In addition, there are four denominations. In the field of coins, they are called "7-3 board", later changed to 7-2 of money, called "7-2 board". This is the first silver coin with dragon pattern. After the sample coins were sent to Beijing, the Ministry of housing ordered that the English on the front be moved to the back, and the Chinese on the back be moved to the front, which became the later widely circulated Guangdong Longyang.

At the end of the Qing Dynasty, with the rise and development of modern industry, China's monetary system and coinage technology underwent a major change. The coinage method of hand casting has become very backward, which is naturally replaced by the machine coinage method. As far as copper coins are concerned, Guangdong mints first minted the first set of mechanism copper yuan, Guangxu Yuanbao, in the 26th year of Guangxu (1900). This kind of copper yuan is round and has no holes. There is a circle in the middle of the coin face. There are four Chinese characters "Guangxu Yuanbao" in the center. The Manchu character "Baoguang" is in the center. Outside the circle, near the outer Guo, there is the word "every hundred change one Yuan and made in Guangdong Province on the outside circle". Inside the circle of the middle of the coin back, there is a Pan-Loong pattern. There is an English "Kwangtung one cent" (a fairy in Guangdong). Later, the provinces imitated Guangdong copper yuan one after another, with the same basic shape, while the pattern of fan and loong and the words on the back of money were arranged in various ways, with many editions.


As early as in the Tiansheng period of the Northern Song Dynasty, China set up Jiaozi(the earliest paper money in China) organization in Yizhou, Sichuan Province. The state officially issued paper money, known as "Jiaozi", but this kind of Jiaozi can no longer be seen.

In 1982, the Chinese government repaired the White Pagoda of Liao Dynasty in the eastern suburb of Hohhot, Inner Mongolia, and found a note named "Zhongtong Yuanbao banknote delivery ยท Eleven Wen" in the soil accumulated in the corridor on the second floor of the pagoda. This banknote is 16.4cm long and 9.3cm wide. It has red official seals on the top, bottom and top of the back, which are nine stacks of seal script. According to the central treasury note issued in the Yuan Dynasty in 1260, the new Mongolian characters were created by BASBA in 1269. There is no BASBA word on the face of this banknote, so it was issued between 1260 and 1269, earlier than other existing Yuan Dynasty banknotes. Therefore, this "Zhongtong Yuanbao banknote delivery" is the earliest existing banknote in China and the earliest banknote in the world.

At the beginning of the Ming Dynasty, following the early methods of the Yuan Dynasty, no money was used for banknotes, but it was soon changed to money and banknotes, mainly banknotes, supplemented by money.

The paper money of Ming Dynasty was issued in the eighth year of Hongwu (1375), Emperor Taizu. It was surrounded by loong shaped decorative pattern, with six characters of "Daming pass treasure money" written horizontally on the top, and four characters on each side of the loong shaped decorative pattern: "Daming pass treasure money, the world passes", with ancient money patterns in the middle. The following is "zhong shu sheng zou zhun in zao, yu zhi qian tong xing shi yong,wei zao zhe zhan, gao bu zhe dai yin er bai wu shi liang(transliteration, mean: Approved by the central government for printing, common to currency, if forgery is killed)" . In the 13th year of Hongwu, fter the structural reform in Ming Dynasty, among which banknote making and coinage belonged to the HuBu(transliteration ,The Department in charge of Finance in Ming Dynasty), so ZhongShusheng on banknotes was changed to the HuBu. There are six types of Daming banknotes: one hundred, two hundred, three hundred, four hundred, five hundred and YiGuan(transliteration). The YiGuan banknote is about 34 cm long and 22 cm wide. It is the largest banknote in China and the largest in the world.